Ragged Sun, Ragged Sky

Ragged Sun, Ragged Sky
Ragged Sun, Ragged Sky

I sometimes like to experiment with very basic forms or very basic ideas.  In this case I chose the sun.  The painting is 24 inches by 36 inches.  I used a large salad bowl to make the circle for the sun. I wanted to contrast the yellow of the sun with the blue of the sky.  I applied different tones of blue from the paint tubes along with a few dabs of other colors placed strategically around the canvas to draw the viewer’s eye to different areas. Then I smeared them around with putty knives and palette knives. I laid the yellow of the sun on thick and shaped it with palette knives to give the sun a rough texture and to make it seem like it is whirling.

Leave a Reply

