Show Pub Brave

Show Pub Brave  by Phil Slattery
Show Pub Brave
by Phil Slattery

Another work created using Photoshop Elements 2.0, but instead of using a photograph from a Renaissance Faire, I used a photograph of a alleyway in Japan (either in Tokyo or Yokosuka).  The woman’s silhouette I created using a photo of a statue, while her face is created from public domain image that I reversed horizontally and to which I made a few other alterations.   I like the atmosphere that it transmits to the viewer: very moody and ominous.   I feel about it as Van Gogh felt about one of his paintings of billiard tables in a bar and which Kirk Douglas (as Van Gogh) said in the movie “Lust for Life”:   “I tried to show a place where a man can ruin himself, go mad, or commit a crime.”

Leave a Reply

