Winter Violence

Winter Violence, 2015
Winter Violence, 2015

I have been preparing for my upcoming show in Farmington and I have spent a good portion of the day creating new works, of which “Winter Violence” is the first I shall publish here.  It is a small work, 16″ x 20″, and done mostly with acrylic and latex on a canvas purchased from Hobby Lobby. I wanted to experiment with white and therefore did not prepare the canvas in any way other than to take off the plastic wrapper.  I chose mostly variations of yellow and gold to make the work bright. The title was Rohrshach moment being the first thing that popped into my head. I may change the title later. My only concern is the same as when I wear anything white:  getting it dirty.   I took the photo of it near sunset and the white appears gray vs. bright white.  I will have to re-take the photo when opportunity permits.

Leave a Reply

