Sunrise over the Gulf of Mexico

Sunrise over the Gulf of Mexico
Sunrise over the Gulf of Mexico

I created this circa 2009-2011, when I was living in Corpus Christi, Texas.  It is latex and spray paint, 36″ x 24″.  I tried to give the sun some texture by dribbling paint onto it, but I did it miserably and ruined the painting in my mind.  I write it off as a lesson learned. Though it is hard to tell in this photo, the upper right corner has been damaged in storage.  It is an interesting work, nonetheless.  I was experimenting with complementary colors and a sort of impasto technique for the waves.  The thin gray line in the lower right is not part of the painting, but a screw-up in my photography, which I shall correct when I have time.  Now I must paint.

Leave a Reply

